John Marino Recognized with Hillebrand Prize from Chemical Society of Washington

Wed, Apr 27, 2022
Dr. John Marino

The Chemical Society of Washington (CSW) has awarded the 2021 Hillebrand Prize to Dr. John Marino, IBBR Co-Director.  He is recognized for his groundbreaking contributions to the field of biophysical characterization by high-resolution Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) and development of engineered protein reagents for next-gen proteomic measurements.  Over his career, his research has involved the application of NMR and other biophysical methods to advance precision measurement of proteins and nucleic acids, with a particular focus on applications to therapeutics and vaccines. “John is recognized both inside of NIST and externally as one of the world’s leading authorities on structural characterization of biomolecules and we are proud to see the CSW honor him with the Hillebrand Prize,” remarked Mike Tarlov, Chief of the Biomolecular Measurement Division at NIST.

Dr. Marino was presented the Hillebrand Prize and gave the awardee presentation “Biophysical Measurement Innovation and its Centrality to Advancing Biotechnology” at the local CSW meeting on April 6, 2022.  The Hillebrand Prize is awarded annually for original contributions to the science of chemistry by a member or members of the Chemical Society of Washington. The Hillebrand Prize is the most prestigious honor given by CSW and is recognized nationally as a mark of significant accomplishment in chemistry.